Skip to the content
The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission

Wheaton is a census-designated place in Montgomery County, Maryland, United States, situated north of Washington, D.C. and northwest of downtown Silver Spring. Wheaton was found to have a population of 52,150 in the 2020 census. Downtown Wheaton is located around the triangle formed by Veirs Mill Road, University Boulevard, and Georgia Avenue. Wheaton is also home to the Montgomery County Planning Department and Department of Parks.

Development Projects in Wheaton

Pedestrian Safety and Connectivity in Wheaton

Planners developed the Pedestrian Level of Comfort (PLOC) to quantify how comfortable people feel when they walk in certain traffic conditions. The PLOC analysis assigns a comfort level to pathways and crossings based on factors such as traffic speed, number of lanes, and whether there is a buffer between a pathway and the street. View Wheaton’s Pedestrian Level of Comfort. 

Wheaton Crash Map

An analysis of the Wheaton area has shown that from 2015 to 2022, there have been five pedestrian fatalities and 51 serious injuries (28 of which being pedestrians). View the interactive crash map.


Montgomery Planning releases Wheaton Downtown Study

Study identifies strategies to advance Wheaton’s revitalization, improve connections between neighborhoods, and…

Community invited to attend Wheaton Downtown Study open house on June 14

Montgomery Planning will provide background on the study, and initial strategies to…

M-NCPPC’s Wheaton Headquarters receives NAIOP’s Best Sustainable Project award for its “environmentally responsible design and innovative building strategies”

The commercial real estate development association’s 19th annual Awards of Excellence honored…
View All