County Council Approves Three Appointees to the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission

May 14, 2019

Three architects replace outgoing members of Historic Preservation Commission to approve historic area work permits, designation and regulation of historic properties in the county

SILVER SPRING, MD –The Montgomery County Planning Department, part of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission (M-NCPPC), is pleased to announce the appointment of three architects to the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission. The Montgomery County Council approved the appointments on Tuesday, May 14 to replace outgoing members of the commission.

The Historic Preservation Commission reviews applications for proposed exterior alterations, new construction and demolition involving properties listed on the Montgomery County Master Plan for Historic Preservation, either as individual historic sites or as properties within a historic district.

Commissioners also approve designations of historic properties to the master plan. The Commission typically meets on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month.

The newly appointed Historic Preservation Commissioners are Silver Spring resident and architect Karen Burditt, Bethesda architect Jeffrey Hains and Kensington resident and architect Cristina Radu.

About the New Appointees to the Historic Preservation Commission

Silver Spring resident Karen Burditt is an architect with Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners in Washington, DC. Her 31-year professional expertise includes urban planning, residential design, multifamily housing, interior design and historic preservation. Burditt has served on the Board of Montgomery Preservation Inc. as the at-large member for Silver Spring since 2010.  She has been active in her local community on the Board of Fenton Village Inc. and on the East Silver Spring Civic Association Committee to Investigate/Evaluate Historic District Status. Burditt earned a bachelor of architecture degree from Catholic University of America.  She is a current member of the American Institute of Architects and the Construction Specification Institute.

Jeffrey Hains is principal of Hains Architects in Bethesda and responsible for completed works throughout Maryland and the Washington metropolitan region.  A Montgomery County resident for more than 24 years, Hains has served as a committee member on the Seven Oaks-Evanswood Civic Association, Old Silver Spring House Tour, Peerless Rockville Preservation Awards program and Springfield Neighborhood Association. He received a master of architecture degree from the University of Maryland and has served a guest critic for architecture school design reviews at the University of Maryland and Catholic University of America. Hains is a current member of the American Institute of Architects.

Cristina Radu is a preservation architect with Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners in Washington, DC. Radu has more than 20 years of experience working on rehabilitation projects of historic buildings throughout the Mid-Atlantic region and abroad. She is co-chair of the Publications Committee of the Association for Preservation Technology International and sits on the organization’s board of directors. Radu holds an architecture degree from the Ion Mincu University of Architecture and Urbanism in Bucharest, Romania, and a master of arts degree in urban affairs and public policy from the University of Delaware. A resident of north Kensington, Radu is a member of the American Institute of Architects and a LEED-accredited professional.