Planning Board Vice Chair Norman Dreyfuss Ends Tenure on July 25

July 25, 2019


Dreyfuss was appointed to the Board in 2010 and then served two, consecutive four-year terms to advance the quality of planning and development in the county 

SILVER SPRING, MD – The Montgomery County Planning Board, part of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, announces the departure of Norman Dreyfuss, who has completed two, consecutive four-year terms, the maximum allowed, as a member and Vice Chair of the Planning Board. His last session with the Board was on July 25, 2019. Dreyfuss was appointed to the Montgomery County Planning Board in February 2010 to fill the unexpired term of deceased commissioner Jean Cryor, before serving two four-year terms.

Dreyfuss views his work on the Planning Board as part of his strong commitment to improving the economic viability of the county. He sought to help the Planning Board, staff and the public gain a better understanding of the development process, and its impact on the economics of development from the private sector’s perspective.

“My tenure on the Montgomery County Planning Board has been extremely rewarding,” says Dreyfuss. “I have had the opportunity to work with dedicated staff in both the Park and Planning Departments and to serve with commissioners dedicated to improving the quality of life for all Montgomery County residents. My work on the Zoning Ordinance rewrite and countless master plans has made for a fulfilling tenure for which I am grateful.”

In June 2019, the Montgomery County Council voted to appoint attorney and community activist Partap Verma to replace Dreyfuss on the Planning Board. Verma was chosen from a pool of 24 applicants and was one of six finalists interviewed by the Council for the Board position. He will be sworn in on July 26.

“We will miss the wisdom and enormous experience Vice Chair Dreyfuss brought to the Planning Board and we thank him for his dedicated service,” says Planning Board Chair Casey Anderson, who was reappointed to another four-year term in June.

About Norman Dreyfuss

Dreyfuss is executive vice president of IDI MD, the developer of Leisure World and many other developments throughout the Washington, D.C., region.

Dreyfuss, who has worked in all aspects of community development, is a champion of affordable housing and co-chairs the county’s annual Affordable Housing Conference. He formerly served as a commissioner on the Montgomery County Housing Opportunities Commission. A resident of Potomac, Dreyfuss holds a law degree from American University and a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering and a bachelor of arts degree from Rutgers University.

In 2017, Dreyfuss was one of five business leaders to be inducted into the Montgomery County Business Hall of Fame. He was recognized for positively influencing the corporate environment and supporting students on their journey to excellence in higher education.

About the Montgomery County Planning Board

The Montgomery County Planning Board oversees the Montgomery County Planning Department and Department of Parks and advises the Montgomery County Council on land use and community planning. The board reviews all plans, development applications and regulatory cases, providing guidelines for the pattern and pace of future development and preserving historic resources throughout the 323,000-acre county. In addition, the board manages the county’s 36,895-acre park system that includes 421 parks. Board members also serve as Commissioners of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, a bi-county agency established in 1927 to protect public land. Current Planning Board members are Chair Casey Anderson, Natali Fani-Gonzalez, Gerald Cichy, Tina Patterson and Partap Verma.