Skip navigation

Policy Areas

Policy Areas – Montgomery County, Maryland

Policy Areas - Montgomery County

Source:Montgomery County Department of Park & Planning, Research & Technology Center

 1.  Aspen Hill
 2.  Bethesda CBD
 3.  Bethesda/Chevy Chase (includes Friendship Heights)
 4.  Cloverly
 5.  Damascus
 6.  Derwood/Shady Grove (see notes)
 7.  Fairland/White Oak
 8.  Gaithersburg City
 9.  Germantown East
 10.  Germantown West
 11.  Germantown Town Center
 12.  Kensington/Wheaton (includes Glenmont)
 13.  Montgomery Village/Airpark
 14.  North Bethesda
 15.  North Potomac
 16.  Olney
 17.  Potomac
 18.  Research & Development (R&D) Village
 19.  Rockville City
 20.  Silver Spring CBD
 21.  Silver Spring/Takoma Park
 22.  Wheaton CBD
 24.  Grosvenor
 25.  Twinbrook
 26.  White Flint
 27.  Darnestown/Travilah
 28.  Goshen
 29.  Patuxent
 30.  Poolesville
 31.  Rock Creek
 33.  Clarksburg

Notes: Derwood and Shady Grove are separate policy areas but demographic data are available only for the two areas combined. This is also true for Friendship Heights (included in the Bethesda/Chevy Chase data, and for Glenmont, included in the Kensington/Wheaton data. There are no policy areas labelled “23” or “32” on this map.

Geographies: Most data are reported for three geographies: (1) jurisdictions in the Montgomery County Region, an area defined by the M-NCPPC Research and Technology Center which includes localities neighboring Montgomery County. The Montgomery County Region is a subset of the localities in the Baltimore-Washington Consolidated Metropolitan Statistical Area as defined by the US Census Bureau. (2) Montgomery County Planning Areas are subareas of the County whose boundaries were defined decades ago for the purposes of reporting demographic and other data. Because the boundaries of these areas have not changed over time, it is possible to report time series data for these areas. These planning areas should not be confused with Master or Sector Plan boundaries, which may be different. (3) Montgomery County Policy Areas are subareas of the County defined for the purposes of implementing the County Adequate Public Facilities Ordinance through the Annual Growth Policy (AGP) transportation test. Policy Area boundaries have changed fairly frequently since the first AGP was adopted in 1986 and often time series data are not available at this geography.


Last Updated: July 1, 2022