Montgomery County Planning Department and Potomac Valley AIA Will Hold Design Excellence Award Program on October 19

August 11, 2017

Design Excellence Award Logo
Tickets now on sale for the Celebrate Design reception and awards event at the Silver Spring Civic Building

 SILVER SPRING, MDThe Montgomery County Planning Department, part of The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission, is inviting everyone with an interest in excellent architecture, landscape architecture and urban design to attend Celebrate Design on Thursday, October 19, 2017 from 6:30 to 9:30 p.m. at the Silver Spring Civic Building (1 Veterans Plaza, Silver Spring, MD). Tickets are $35 each and can be purchased online.

 The winners of the Planning Department’s third annual Design Excellence Award competition will be announced during the celebration, which will also include the annual awards ceremony of the American Institute of Architects (AIA) Potomac Valley Chapter. This year, there will be two top Design Excellence Awards – one for urban design, buildings and sites, and another for landscapes and open space.

One of the highlights of the evening will be the presentation given by Jeffrey Abramson, a partner in The Tower Companies, an award-winning real estate development company based in Rockville, MD. Abramson is an authority on green building technology and will speak about The Tower Companies’ highly successful sustainability initiatives at the Celebrate Design event.

About the 2017 Design Excellence Award

The Planning Department’s annual Design Excellence Award seeks to recognize exceptional work in architecture, landscape architecture and urban design that has been completed in Montgomery County over the past decade. More than 25 entries to the competition have been submitted by architects, developers and property owners. The goal of the awards program is to promote top-notch design and improve the quality of the built environment throughout the County.

The winner will be selected in September by an outside jury of accomplished professionals in the fields of architecture, landscape architecture and urban design. The 2017 jurors are:

  • Developer Andrew Altman, Managing Principal of FiveSquares Development in Washington, DC.
  • Landscape architect Jeff Lee, President and Founding Principal of Lee and Associates in Washington, DC.
  • Architect Suzane Reatig, Principal and Founder of Suzane Reatig Architecture in Washington, DC.
  • Urban planner Eric Shaw, Director of the DC Office of Planning.
  • Architect John Torti, President of Torti Gallas and Partners, Silver Spring, MD.

Review the bios of the 2017 jury members.

Celebrate Design Awards Ceremony
Thursday, October 19, 2017
6:30 to 9:30 p.m.
Silver Spring Civic Building (1 Veterans Plaza, Silver Spring, MD)
Ticket price: $35
Purchase tickets.

  • 6:30 – 7:30 p.m. Opening reception.
  • 7:30 – 8:45 p.m. Awards presentation by the AIA Potomac Valley and the Montgomery County Planning Department.
  • Featured Speaker: Jeffrey Abramson of The Tower Companies, Rockville, MD.
  • 8:45 – 9:30 p.m. Dessert reception.

Purpose of the Design Excellence Award

In 2015, the Planning Department launched its first Design Excellence Award program to achieve the following goals:

  • To recognize the best examples of architecture, landscape architecture and urban design in Montgomery County, and increase public awareness of this world-class design excellence.
  • To promote built work that contributes to the creation of pedestrian-oriented, walkable neighborhoods that enrich and contribute to the greater community.
  • To show how physical design can lead to greater health, economic opportunity and environmental sustainability.

Learn more about the Montgomery County Planning Department’s Design Excellence initiative.